O-SII capital buffer for Other Systemically Important Institutions - Credit institutions

The Central Bank of Cyprus (CBC), in accordance with its policy for the designation of credit institutions that meet the definition of  Other Systemically Important Institutions (O-SII institutions) and the methodology for the determination of the O-SII buffer requirement, concluded its annual reassessment of the designation of credit institutions that meet the definition of O-SII institutions for 2023. In accordance with the CBC's reassessment, five credit institutions have been designated as O-SII institutions, which are listed in the Table below along with the corresponding O-SII capital buffer rate that each credit institution must meet and the phase in period (where an additional O-SII buffer requirement applies).

Institution’s name LEI code Total O-SII score
(Basis points*)
Total O-SII capital buffer requirement O-SII buffer requirement applicable as of 1 January:
2023** 2024


Bank of Cyprus Public Company Ltd PQ0RAP85KK9Z75ONZW93        3.562 2,25% 1,50% 1,875%


Hellenic Bank Public Company Ltd CXUHEGU3MADZ2CEV7C11        2.796 1,50% 1,00% 1,25%


Eurobank Cyprus Ltd 5493004KSNEM4U7L8714           1.807 0,75% 0,75% 0,75%


Astrobank Ltd 549300VB6UM9TUOCYW67              442 0,25% 0,25% 0,25%


Αlpha Bank Cyprus Ltd 529900VS0F7BA91P4I60              522 0,25% 0,25% 0,25%


* The total score of the Cyprus credit institutions sector is 10.000 basis points.

** It was set during the annual reassesment that was concluded on 2 December 2022.

Information relating to the designation of credit institutions which meet the definition of O-SII institutions that took place in previous years, is set out in this file.