Designation of credit institutions as Other Systemically Important Institutions

Friday, 11 October 2019

The Central Bank of Cyprus, in accordance with its policy for the designation of Other Systemically Important Institutions (O-SII institutions) and the methodology for the determination of the O-SII buffer requirement, concluded on 11 October 2019 its annual reassessment of the designation of credit institutions that meet the definition of O-SII institutions. It has designated Bank of Cyprus Public Company Ltd, Hellenic Bank Public Company Ltd, RCB Bank Ltd, Eurobank Cyprus Ltd, Αlpha Bank Cyprus Ltd and Astrobank Ltd as Other Systemically Important Institutions (O-SII institutions) and set the level of the additional capital that they must maintain as a result of their systemic importance. This will take effect on 1 January 2020.

Click here.